“Criticism in the age of social media has to be much more playful and giving”

“I write what I mean, but I also write every day, which means my opinions are visibly in flux: I change my mind. It’s inevitably a bit conversational and informal. On the whole, I am trying to entertain rather than to demolish. If a demolition is required, I am prepared to re-argue my case and respect the responses. I find it hard to get as angry as I used to – perhaps because I write more, and brood less. Far from being oppressed by the volume and variety of other voices, I have been made to see the funny side of my own craft.”

Jonathan Jones on learning to love the comments to his Guardian articles. A much more generous writer than I could claim to be.

“Criticism in the age of social media has to be much more playful and giving”