“You start looking at everything differently if you put women at the heart of it”

In today’s Guardian, Emine Saner interviews Barbara Stocking, chief executive of Oxfam. It’s an informative read throughout, and I’ll link to it when I can find it online. Read on for some extracts that really stood out for me.

With 70% of the world’s poor being women, “if you are not working on women you’re not working on poverty, frankly… Fundamentally, you need two things for dealing with population – one is girls’ education, which gives them power, confidence and knowledge, and then there is easy access to contraception. Most women do not want more than about three to five children – that is from surveys right across the world.”

Asked why there are so few women at her level, she responded, “I think in a lot of places men don’t think women can do things – and that’s because they don’t understand how they do them. I’ve heard things like, ‘is she tough enough?’. I think I’m pretty tough.”

“It only changes when you get enough women… if you can get to a third, things can change.”

Oxfam’s latest campaign is Grow – which is campaigning for investment in small-scale agriculture among other things.

They’re also continuing the Robin Hood Tax campaign, which is gaining momentum having attracted some very high-profile support of late. Support the campaign through Oxfam here, and through the Craftivist Collective (as I’m doing) here.

“You start looking at everything differently if you put women at the heart of it”