Jennifer Rubell, “professional eater”

“I’m by no means a vegetarian, but meat is in some ways the least interesting food for me. I have a lot of little meals each day, and for me to sit down with eight ounces of meat, let alone sixteen ounces or whatever size a regular steak is, for me to go through all of that is just boring. I’m not getting anything on bite twenty that I wasn’t getting on bite one or two or three, whereas with vegetables actually there’s much more textural variety. At the beginning of the week, I’ll buy two pieces of meat for me and my daughter. Put together they’re not one pound and they’ll last us the whole week, just a taste of meat with whatever.”

– Jennifer Rubell

Read the full article (from December 2010) on Grub Street New York here.

Jennifer Rubell, “professional eater”